365 Photo Challenge: Week Two

And just like that, the second week of 2018 has come and gone.

This last week, I had to think a little out of the box to reach the criteria of my theme…The theme being: Light & Shadow.

I kind of just settled on this theme, since it was lingering in the back of my mind last weekend as I noticed how the light came in through the blinds, and how the shadows were cast in result.  I thought it might be cool if I could capture some of them, but I wasn’t entirely married to the idea for the second week.  But come Monday morning, and having no other theme ideas, I decided to just go for it!  After all, the idea of taking a particular photo won me over.

Only problem was… a majority of the week was full of cloudy days!  This meant I wasn’t getting harsh enough shadows with the natural light coming in through the blinds around the house to get what I was hoping to capture. As a result, I had to get creative with artificial light to get my photo of the day.  The first couple days were spent with me declaring that I picked the wrong week for this theme.  I should have saved this one for the summer, when I’m guaranteed sunny days!

 

I ended up waiting until the later in the day to take my photos, where I would wondering around the house with a flashlight or a lantern to see what kind of shadows I can make.  Some days, I was proud of what I managed to capture, but there are a couple that ended up giving me more of an, “Eh, that works I guess,” reaction.  Interestingly enough, my least favorite images of the week seemed to get the most likes on Instagram.

 

Luckily, Day 13 (Saturday) gave me the day of sun I needed to capture the photo that I envisioned in the beginning of the week!  I had just woken up (at 8 A.M.), noticed the sun shine against my curtain, and literally jumped out of bed to throw open those curtains and part the blinds.  I waited about 20 minutes for the sun to get to just the right spot before I began shooting away.

This shadow being cast from the figurines I have decorating my stereo speakers in my bedroom is something I noticed recently from my desk and thought it looked cool.  This challenge gave me an excuse to actually photograph it, and I was so glad the sun came out just for at least one day this week so I can have the one photo that convinced me to pursue this theme to begin with.

Day 14

This week was certainly a bit of a challenge, but I managed!  Even though it wasn’t how I had originally imagined the week going.  And, because I had to look so hard for shadows, I’ll probably be spending time noticing them – and potentially pointing them out – more frequently than usual.   Maybe I can figure out another way to play with shadows in a future theme.  Who knows.  You’ll just have to stick around to see what I have in store next.

❤️ – T.

One thought on “365 Photo Challenge: Week Two

Leave a comment